Stormwater is the runoff that occurs over land, roads, parking lots, and other surfaces during and after rain. Butner’s Stormwater Management Program is committed to the preservation and enhancement of residents’ quality of life through water uality improvement, drainage infrastructure management, flood hazard minimization, and public awareness.

Developers and Contractors

Preparing to submit plans or in process of plan review. Click here to find the Water Supply Watershed Map, stormwater management plan application and checklist, who to contact about permits, etc.

Stormwater Programs and Projects

The Town of Butner is in the Falls Lake Watershed, and has adopted Falls Lake Rules for New Development. Butner also had a MS4 NPDES Phase II permit from the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality. Click here to see the Town’s Stormwater Management Program specifically to address the requirements and regulations in Falls Lake and the MS4 NPDES Phase II permit.

Stormwater Control Measure Annual Inspections

All stormwater control devices in the Town require annual inspection. Click here for a copy of the annual inspection form.

Flood Information

Find out about flood zone determination, flood insurance information, and links to other related flood information sources.

Stormwater Fee Information

View stormwater rates, information about where stormwater dollars are spent, and frequently asked questions about the stormwater program, regional stormwater utility, stormwater fees, and rates.

Upper Neuse River Basin Association

The Upper Neuse River Basin Association (UNRBA) was formed in 1996 to provide an ongoing forum for cooperation on water quality protection and water resource planning and management within the 770-square mile watershed. UNRBA was formed by seven (of the 8) municipalities. six counties, and local soil and water conservation districts in the watershed.

The mission of the UNRBA is to preserve the water quality of the basin through innovative and cost-effective pollution reduction strategies and to constitute a forum to cooperate on water supply issues within the basin. Local governments in the watershed include: Butner, Creedmoor, Durham, Raleigh, Hillsborough, Stem, Wake Forest, and Durham County SWCD. Durham, Wake, Franklin, Granville, Orange, and Person counties are also members of the South Granville Water & Sewer Authority (SGWASA).

Back to top

Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer